Regional Tourism

Regional tourism in Tasmania is based around four regional tourism organisations that cover the North West and West Coast region, the Southern region, the Northern region and the East Coast.

These organisations set the strategic direction for tourism in their region, identify annual priorities and deliver programs that engage the participation of their industry and stakeholders. They have the autonomy to plan and deliver programs that effectively develop and market the region and are accountable to their industry and key stakeholders.

This arrangement represents a tourism industry-led approach to regional tourism in Tasmania. It empowers the tourism industry to take more control of tourism in their region, with Tourism Tasmania providing some support funding for the four organisations.

The approach also aims to improve the coordination of resources across councils, the tourism industry and Tourism Tasmania that are directed towards agreed regional tourism priorities, as well as clarify the role of local tourism associations and their contribution to the development of regional priorities.


Contacts for each region as well as board members and website addresses can be found on the individual region pages.